d3/d300 file size/computer upgrade

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by notelliot, Dec 13, 2007.

  1. notelliot

    notelliot TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    hey guys, i have a couple questions.
    first is regarding the d300 raw image file size at 14 and 12bit - how large?
    i own a mac g4 now, and i know it won't be able to handle the files from this camera, so i'm thinking about upgrading to a 20" imac. 2.4 ghz with 2gb ddr2 ram and 500gb serial ata should be nice move.. i'm just wondering if i should maybe go with 4gb of ram and wondering if i could afford that.

    anyone with any info would be a big help.
     
  2. jstuedle

    jstuedle No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,889
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    S.E. Indiana
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Ram is cheap now. I would go for 4 or more.
     
  3. jstuedle

    jstuedle No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,889
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    S.E. Indiana
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    The biggest improvement you could make though is much bigger hard drives, and maybe an external RAID array.
     
  4. Garbz

    Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,713
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    File sizes aren't much bigger than for the D200. Ultimately the RAWs are but the second you import into photoshop they cease being 8bit and go up to 16bit regardless of actual bitdepth. The only difference then is a piddly little 2mpx increase.

    If you can edit now with a SLR of significant megapixel then there's no reason you can't edit just as well with a D300 or D3. With that in mind I have 2gb of ram and have yet to run out of headroom to the extent where HDDs start bottlenecking my image editing. What really bites though is saving 600mb+ multilayered PSDs while I am still working on them. Even with 2 SATA drives in a RAID0 array they take ages to load and save.
     
  5. jstuedle

    jstuedle No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,889
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    S.E. Indiana
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I run 4 meg. now and run short while stitching 6X6 scans for pano's. If you are not into that, 4 will do you well for a while.
     
  6. RyanLilly

    RyanLilly No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    St. Louis, Missouri, USofA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Buy the ram and put it in yourself, apple charges and extra arm and a leg for it.
     
  7. notelliot

    notelliot TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    no kidding. 800 bucks for 4gb over 2gb ram, 650 for a tb harddrive.
    but then again, i could always start midway with 2gb ram and a smaller harddrive and install more ram and gb's later..
    either way it's a drastic leap from what i'm using: 1.5ghz G4/512ram/80gb hd (which doesn't handle d70s raw files very efficiently)
    the only thing is, i'd get the thing apart, install the memory/harddrive and forget how it goes back together. what a good learning experience it would be.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

file size d300

,

www.serial d3 photo.net