Debating buying a D7100... HELP!

jackehboy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all!
I have been shooting off and on for a little over two years. I own a D3000 that was a gift to me for Christmas a few years ago with a few lenses.
10-20mm UWA Sigma
55-200 from nikon
50mm 1.8g nikon
85mm 3.5 (Wish I didnt get talked into this one and bought a 1.8)
15-55mm kit lens.

I have shot a few friends weddings (Younger friends, no money for a big photographer so they just wanted the best they could afford and didnt really care about HOW good they were.) Of course I tried my best! Ha! Iv done a few senior pictures too, then all around just randomly shooting whatever seems good at the time!

As you know Tax season is approaching and I havent really ever bought myself anything with it. (I doubt i get the full amount I want back but anyways ) I am playing with the idea of buying a friends D7100 off of him. It has been taken care of perfectly as he is a die hard photographer, he just wants to go back to Cannon BOO! :p
Anyways, the deal would be the following: $900
Nikon D7100 - Body, Battery, Grip ($50 dollar grip) All the paper work, warrenty, lens cleaning kits. 35mm 1.8g lens (like new), charging cords and parts for all the above obv. I would get the original boxes as well for all. He is also willing to throw in a nikon lens carry bag ( not sure how big or the value)

Now here is a few questions.
1. I am shooting a friends wedding for $300 in march, which knocks the price down to 600 out of my pocket. I potentially have another wedding or call it a photoshoot as its just a ceremony they want pictures of! I am not sure how much that would be bringing in... I can also POSSIBLY sell my D3000 camera body. I have a few friends interested in photography, but giving up one of my lenses would be hard and i have no clue what I would tell them price wise. Plus like I had said earlier, tax season so hopefully I will get some money back soon!