Decent Cheap Lens for Canon xti?

tafkam

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi, I am getting my first SLR and have decided on the Canon Rebel xti, but my question is, do I get it with the kit lens or go ahead and get the body only with a better lens now?
From what I can gather the body only would save me about 80 bucks, and if possible perhaps I could spend another 100 to 150 bucks for a better all around lens.
Any suggestions? The only thing I have found so far is a Sigma that is on sale at J/R for $140. Here is the url for that....
http://www.jr.com/JRProductPage.pro...71&JRSource=googlebase.datafeed.SGA+CA18-50MM
I am just starting out so I want a good general purpose lens for the camera, I am sure the kit lens is ok and if so please tell me, but I have read reviews that say the one with the kit is rather cheap. I don't want to spend a whole lot of money on the thing but I may as well not get the kit lens if I am eventually going to upgrade anyway, that is the way I am looking at it.
Any suggestions would be much appreciated.
Thank you
Mike G
Dayton, OH

$100-150 isn't going to get you a nice all-around lens that is much (if any) better than the 18-55 kit lens that comes with the XTi.

The XTi's 18-55 lens is well worth the money (and savings) for a beginner. Start with the Canon 18-55 kit, and save at least $400 to drop on an upgrade.

Just get the 18-55 kit lens. Yeah they're cheaply built, but so are a lot of lenses these days so don't let that steer you away. The kit lenses are actually capable of making very nice photos and are the perfect thing to learn on while you're developing a shooting style and learning before you go dropping a lot more money on other stuff.

Thank you for the replies, I really do appreciate it!

Will go for the camera and lens then and down the road will look for advise on a better all around lens.

Thanks again
Mike G

Just a thought you may want to keep stuck somewhere in the back of your brain.

A "Decent Cheap Lens for Canon xti"