Decent Wedding Photo Pricing Structure?

Discussion in 'General Shop Talk' started by astrostu, Nov 19, 2009.

1. astrostu

astrostu I shoot for the stars

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    After my first first/only-shooter experience two months ago where I photographed a pretty difficult wedding full of dim lighting of different colors for a Hindu ceremony where I was photographing for 14 hrs that I did for free ... I created a price list 'cause I decided that I'm never doing it for free again. My advisor just told me yesterday that he got engaged and is getting married next summer and he would like me to do his wedding. After explaining to him that I'm not a pro (which he obviously knows since he's seen my work for the last few years and he's my advisor in my real job), I sent him a link to the photos I just finished for the wedding I did 2 months ago to see if he's still interested.

Anyway, after that unnecessary preamble, I wanted to see what you folks think of my prices. I tried to make them reasonable and kinda low, and I would definitely give my advisor a big discount, but for future reference I'd like to know what y'all think:

2. NateWagner

NateWagner TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    prints are way to cheap

3. rhondag

rhondag TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Who do you use for photo processing?
    I think you could go with a pro lab...like mpixpro or whcc or bayphoto---charge more---and make more money.

4. KmH

KmH Helping photographers learn to fish Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    The cost of most prints is miniscule compared to the retail selling price.

Astrostu, your pricing will determine the type of client you attract. At those prices you will have to be very careful when you qualify a B&G.