DEVELOPING BLACK AND WHITE PHOTOS

photokid

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hello all...

i'm new to the world of photography, but gained an interest after seeing a lot of dark/crisp black and white photos by photographer Ross Halfin.

i've included a link below to his work.

if i want to achieve the dark/crispness of his photos, is this done through developing, or does this soley rely on his film and equipment?

http://www.rosshalfin.co.uk/ac-dc/acdc01.php

Yes to all. The developing and printing of B&W film is an art, and one which takes a fair amount of skill and knowledge to perfect. I would suggest you spend a little time reading in the "Film Photography" forums below; I suspect you'll find a wealth of information there.

The look of his AC/DC pictures from the late 70's and early 80's is a combination of the film he used and the developing. It's quite easy to replicate - dark and crisp is easy! The film is simply given less exposure than normal, then developed for more than the normal time - called 'pushing' the film.

There is quite a lot of good information on the Ilford website, including information about developing film in general and about pushing: getting started link; general info link; pushing film link.

Suitable films are Kodak Tri-X and Ilford HP5+, and suitable developers would be Kodak D-76, Ilford ID-11 and Ilford Microphen, but there are many, many others. Back in those days I used Tri-X and D-76 for pushing.

Good film cameras and developing equipment are cheap these days.

Good luck,
Helen

Back in those days I used Tri-X and D-76 for pushing.

I remember those days. Tri-X was great for tonality, but never correct on it's ASA (ISO to you younger photogs) listings. It usually ran more around 160 instead of 400. There was something about the smell of a new box of 4x5 film that I always liked. I almost miss those days. Almost!