Digital make-up

Granddad

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been a fan of Portrait Pro for a while and have used it a fair bit but I'd never seriously tested out the make-up feature until earlier this week. I managed to persuade SHE WHO MUST BE OBEYED to let me shoot her without her face paint so I could give it a shot. I didn't set up my backdrop so apologies for the trim on the closet door that cuts into her head. This was a "Just for fun" experiment so here's where it belongs. I don't think I used any of the program's features except the make-up sliders... although I may have given her a touch of "smokey eyes" and possibly a smidgeon of iris brightening (memory issues!). I deliberately avoided all the skin smoothing and face sculpt sliders. I'm quite pleased and I probably took less time to do this than a MUA would to get similar results.

Note: I'm not impressed with the eyebrow pencil results; they must assume your subject has eyebrows to start with.
Note2: To be fair I'm using an older version of Portrait Pro, PP 15 which is a few years old now, that may have been fixed by now as they're currently on version 17.

Before&After.jpg

Last edited:
I think it still came out well. Good job....

The problem I have with the make up feature is that it's a different set of lips/eyes they layer over top.

The problem I have with the make up feature is that it's a different set of lips/eyes they layer over top.
That's so but if you're starting from scratch that's not so noticeable (apart from the eyebrow pencil). If you try it on top of an already heavy make up job it will be a disaster but I've had subjects who wanted glam but had no idea how to do it and no money for an MUA. It's not ideal but it's another tool in the tool bag.

I have the trial, and I've actually been impressed with it -- especially the modeling lighting.

Pretty cool