Digital SLR for Beginner?

Twinkeethekid

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Okay, I've just recently enetered the world of photogrophy after being in the world of videogrophy for the past few years. So my knowledge of how cameras work and how to take pcitures aren't exactly at the lowest level. However, I am starting to look for a sill tcamera now. However, I don't know what to get. I'd like digital so i can experiment without waisting film, but I also love the look, feel, and control of an SLR. However, is a digital SLR (like the canon digital rebel) too expensive for a beginner (keep in mind Im a poor college student :wink: ). So should I just go film SLR or point and shoot digital (like a powershot G5), or just go all the way and save for a dSLR?

i wouldnt go with a point and shoot, u may want to "graduate" too fast and would end up investing in an SLR anyway :? ... i would go with an digital SLR that has program, aperture priority, shutter priority and fully manual capabilities .. that way u can graduate on the same camera for a while. :D

if you are on a tight budget and are looking for an SLR, get the digi rebel, or you could wait 2 months for the rumored Nikon compition to the rebel.

Yo,
The Canon Rebel is the cheapest you are going to get for a DSLR, unfortunately! I did initially want the Rebel, but I decided to just purchased a G5 due to budget constraints (ha ha, poor recently graduated college student here!). The thing about the Rebel is that it just feels soooo unsturdy. I rather wait for this photography hobby of mine to flourish because I really splurge for one of the Nikon D series.
The G5 is not so bad, though it has it drawbacks (the chromatic aberration is killing me softly!) - it was well worth the price. It's available for under $500 on various websites so if money is your main concern, go for it!
Good luck!
Me, the Flea