Digital to HDTV

Jack Flash

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm relatively new to digital photography but have accumulated a number of digital photographs over the past few years. We recently managed to view some sample photos on our HDTV at 1080p. It was a great way to see your memories. So I begin a quest to find out how to set up our digital library for HDTV viewing.... and how to upgrade our modest camera (PowerShot S30) to something more accommodating for HDTV pictures.

After days of online searching I've come to the conclusion this isn't something which has received much attention to date. I think all one needs to do is crop effectively to develop a suitable format for HDTV if the resolution is there to begin with. Unfortunately I haven't any experience with post processing software and what I have seen doesn't offer a HDTV crop tool. Dragging to accommodate a 1920 x 1080 pixel count is hit or miss on the few software packages I've tried.

Are there any guides out there for accomplishing this or for dealing with HDTV viewing? Surely this has been addressed by someone... hopefully.

Thanks

a lot of software has an image/canvas resize option. You can enter the numerical pixels that you need even if it is smaller than the image. This will crop to that size(on the canvas size). If the image is 2600x1800 or something, you'd first resize to the 1980width, then crop numerically to 1080.
dug

Welcome to the forum.

Actually, most of the software that I use or have seen...does allow for precise image sizing. Photoshop, for example, even has a crop tool that allows you to specify the resolution and aspect ration before you crop, then the tool sticks to the proper ratio when you use it.

Actually, I don't think that it's necessary for you to size your images perfectly for the resolution of your HDTV. As long as you have enough resolution, the images should display well.