Do I need a upgrade to take better photos?

alfanoc

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all

I know every year there's a new camera or upgrade and unfortunately I can't afford a new camera as the Canon Mark 5D iii that I would love to get. I am not a professional photographer but have been taking photos for many years of friends and family and feel I have some talent. I'm not great but I would like to get a lot better. I've had the following equipment for awhile now and slowly trying to brush up on my skills now that I have a little more time and my children are getting older. I'm wondering if this will do in order for me to take professional looking photos.

Canon Rebel T1i (yes, the first Rebel)
with a EFS 18-55mm

Canon Zoom Lens Ef 75-300mm 1:4-5.6

Canon lens EF 50mm 1.4 (this is actually a pretty awesome lens that blurs the background w/ portraits)

Canon SPeed lite 430EX11

Is the above still ok, or is it just me that needs to learn to take photos out of AF mode.

Is the above still ok, or is it just me that needs to learn to take photos out of AF mode.

yes, it's you.
sure you could spend more money but experience and effort is a better investment.
it's not AutoFocus that's the issue, usually.
Start posting images here and learn about composition, aperture choice and editing.

They made Rebels with film. Thiught my xs was first if the line but nope.

My advice, save for a 70-200 and put that in your T1 that would be awesome. Why not new gear is fun right and smells good too. Then gdt an older Rebel and put the new lens on, that would be F.U.N.

this is what i mean... does the body of the camera matter? Or should i be investing in better lens and classes instead?

Yes, and yes?

this is what i mean... does the body of the camera matter? Or should i be investing in better lens and classes instead?
Naturally, the camera body matters some, otherwise all the pros would never need to use a $6,000 camera.