TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
so im still learning DOF and wanted your thoughts on how this looks

disregard the reflection on the 8ball and how dirty it is please

thanks

dofpool1.jpg

how is it that the felt on the table is out of focus? was this done post process? i'm only asking because everything at the same distance as the 8 ball should be in focus.

yeah i just noticed that, odd mmmmmm.

ill try another one other than the felt how is it?

how is it that the felt on the table is out of focus? was this done post process? i'm only asking because everything at the same distance as the 8 ball should be in focus.

That's not how it works.

It is perfectly reasonable that the table is out of focus. The focus seems to be on the "8", so anything out from there may/may not be in focus.

That's not how it works.

It is perfectly reasonable that the table is out of focus. The focus seems to be on the "8", so anything out from there may/may not be in focus.
you beat me to it. The 8 is deffinately the focus point. Everything else in the forground and beyond is, and should be, out of focus.

i know you said disregard the light on the 8 ball but it just takes away from this whole picture for me sorry

i'm fixin to lose it ...............

i just want to get this straight before i go way off the freakin chart here. sooo, your trying to explain to me that when i focus on something, the camera is selectively focusing on a given subject and NOT FOCUSING TO A SPECIFIC DISTANCE THAT THE SUBJECT IS FROM THE LENS? ........... AND THAT EVERYTHING ELSE AT THAT SAME DISTANCE WILL NOT BE IN FOCUS. IS THIS WHAT YOUR SAYING?

I find it odd that the blur seems so even from the second ball back...gaussian blur?