Dumb Question Probably But...

magkelly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I need to ask it anyway.

I've been shooting with my Fuji S7000 for almost 7 years now. I'm pretty versed in all it's quirks and I've experimented with every setting you can possibly use with this camera using every mode, ISO and aperture this camera can do. Some images come out somewhat focused and sharp, but they never come out 100% as I'd like ever, not even with a tripod. I think I can count on one hand the number of images I've gotten with this camera that I would consider truly sharp and focused enough.

Now I know my camera is basically just a glorified point and shoot with some manual settings but is it possible the lens on this camera just isn't capable of taking a really crisp shot? I can get very near to it, sometimes, but it never quite makes it and it really frustrates me. Even my very best shots with that camera are just a bit softer focused particularly towards the center than I'd like.

I got a chance to shoot with someone's camera, a DSLR, and at once I noticed a huge difference in the focus of my shots. They were far crisper and sharper than anything I have ever managed with my Fuji to date. I just loved using it but the experience really left me feeling a lot less happy with my Fuji than I had been over the years.

For a point and shoot I always thought this camera wasn't too bad at all, but having shot with something else I am really beginning to wonder if this camera was worth the buy. I got the best camera I could at the time, but I just don't feel I'm really getting the quality of shot I'd like to get out of it.

Up till I shot with the DSLR I thought it was probably just me. That the photographer wasn't quite up to the camera, maybe, but shooting with an old manual film SLR, the DSLR and realizing those shots are far crisper than anything I've ever taken on the Fuji. It's made me really rethink the Fuji.