Editing Software: Photoshop Elements or Lightroom?

meyecam

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I also posted this on the product review board, but thought I may also be able to get some help here among some other photography newbies.

I'm a definite novice in the world of photography and editing, but I'm looking to get more serious about it and possibly turn it into a profession. In the meantime, while I'm learning, which editing software would be the best to start with? I've a read a bunch of reviews on both PE 7 and LR 2 and they seem very similar, but maybe I'm missing something big?

I'm assuming CS4 would be the best option overall and in the long run and I believe both options are good for organzing, but to do basic editing and coloring (example below), which between PE 7 and LR 2 would be the better pick?

Also, does either one really do composition? And if so, which one is better for that?

Thanks for any advice.
3532315984_69f1be78ed.jpg

Photoshop (elements or CS#) are image editing programs...Lightroom is a workflow software. There is a lot of overlap, Lightroom does some corrections, editing etc...and you can use Photoshop for your entire workflow if you like. If you are just learning the basics and you are interested in image editing, I would recommend elements. But the combination of Lightroom and either CS# or Elements would be great.

Got it! So Lightroom is not so great by itself, but Elements can stand alone if it needs to just for the basics.

Got it! So Lightroom is not so great by itself,
Well, it is great by itself...it does so many things, and really makes your workflow easy. But if you aren't shooting hundreds and thousands of images the you may not need it just yet. If you would rather 'play' with image editing, then Photoshop is the way to go.
Lightroom is really made for photographers, while photoshop is for all image editing.

Go for Photoshop CS4 if you can get it.
Elements is just the very basics.