F stop question

PatK

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I hesitate to even ask this because it's probably a dumb question, but here goes. It's been years since I've used an SLR camera. If I need the ability to use ,say F/16 because of a slow shutter speed for waterfalls, how do I know that a camera has that ability. My Kodak z980 does not. I'm looking at the Olympus E620 and the lens says F/4.0-5.6. What does that mean? That can't be the apeture range. Please help me understand where I check to make sure I have the range I need, or do all DSLRs have it? Thank you

I'm new to the DSLR scene, but the F/4.0-5.6 means that is the largest aperture that is supported (the smallest number). I believe that most will go up to F22? I have an Olympus E-420 and that's how high the F-Stops go.

Also, the camera doesn't determine the F-Stops, all of that is based on the lens that you have. Do you know which lens the E-620 comes with?

It has 2 with it. One is 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6. the other one is 40-150mm f/4.0-5.6. I also planned on buying the 70-300 f/4.0-5.6.

I can tell you for a fact that the 14-42mm will go to F22 (I have that lens). I am pretty sure both of the others will as well, but you may want to get a confirmation.

the range you are seeing is the max aperature of the lens. it is variable in those lenses based on zoom. ex, the 14-42 f/3.5 - 5.6 will have a max aperture of 3.5 at 14mm and 5.6 at 42mm. it will progressively close down along the way. it is common for kit lenses to do this.

if you see a lens that says, oh say 28-70 f/2.8, that means you can have f/2.8 at 28mm and f/2.8 at 70mm.

the camera doesn't support a max or min aperture, that is a product of the lens. if you want a really small aperture look for the min aperture on the lens. it is usually published.