Finally got my 80-200, so I need some advice

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by clbd39, Dec 20, 2009.

1. clbd39

clbd39 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I was excited to go try out my new Nikon 80-200mm f/2.8 even though it was 31 degrees outside!

I wanted to get a good shot of my hometown's decorations on a downtown street and a pic of my car

I know the downtown picture would be better if I got rid of the powerlines, but, one of my questions is where would you all crop this to make it more interesting

On the car one, it's off of a small side road near our bridge that goes into Illinois, if you all don't mind, some C&C would be much appreciated. I did a little toning, obviously desaturated the downtown one and cloned out my plates, I may have gone overboard with unsharp mask as well, I'm fairly new to photography, especially compared to many of you so I'm here to learn as much as possible!

Thanks!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. photograham

photograham TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'd crop out that red car ruining the bridge shot :)
    Just kidding[​IMG]

3. clbd39

clbd39 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    :( lol it's all good you either love them or hate them, one of these days i'll figure out how to take a cool picture of that bridge lol

I like how the fenders flare on the front and the rear mimics it in a subtle and clean way

Rally it :)

4. fokker

fokker No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    Both good shots, I like the car one the best. I would crop it down slightly, there appears to be grey areas in the corners where it looks like you've rotated it. It could probably stand to lose some of that blown out sky as well. There is also something odd looking coming out the back of the car which I would crop out. Otherwise nice clear photo with no distracting background elements, and a nice perspective of the car.

5. clbd39

clbd39 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit