First DSLR?

ryancz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well I posted similar in the welcome/intro subforum, but probably better here.
I am a high school student (read: pretty much broke, and haven't even gotten to college yet) and am interested in getting more into photography as a hobby. I have looked at cameras and such (online) and I am leaning towards the Nikon D3200. Is this a good base to learn on and move forward with, upgrading lenses*and such?
Any other details or background you guys think might help you help me?

$ a factor? If so you can get a Nikon D5100 pretty cheap in the body only flavor: Nikon D5100 Digital SLR Camera (Body Only) 25476 B&H Photo Video = $446.95 & that's a hard deal to beat. That's $250 off. That's $250 you can put into a Nikon 85mm 1.8G or Nikon 50mm 1.8G and good to go. Yeah, it's got the older 11 point AF from the D90 but it ain't bad.

Money is definitely a factor (near-broke high schooler) and I will have to save a bit anyway, but that deal looks great. How long will it last?
Compared to the D3200, they both have features I like, but it's usually one or the other.
I've seen videos and such comparing them, and never found a conclusion.

ryancz said:
Money is definitely a factor (near-broke high schooler) and I will have to save a bit anyway, but that deal looks great. How long will it last?
Compared to the D3200, they both have features I like, but it's usually one or the other.
I've seen videos and such comparing them, and never found a conclusion.

Don't know how long it'll last. I imagine until stock runs out but there's quite a few places running that same deal. Or you can go refurb as suggested above.

honestly I'd probably try to find a used D3100 or else go for a D90.