Flash diffuser queastion

flyin-lowe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I recently got a speedlight 430 EX for my camera. I have seen the square diffuser that run about $10.00 and snap on the end of the flash. Are these worth the money or is there something else out there that people recommend.

I am a noob and mainly taking pictures indoors and outdoors of my children, and some of the family kids.

I recently got a speedlight 430 EX for my camera. I have seen the square diffuser that run about $10.00 and snap on the end of the flash. Are these worth the money or is there something else out there that people recommend.
I have one but don't really use it much. I prefer to use a bounce card or a empty alcohol bottle.

A Better Bounce Card. You can actually make your own with white Fun Foam from a craft store and a big rubber band.

I would say just make sure you are bouncing the flash when you can, giving you directional light. If you cannot bounce it, the omni-bounce (plastic diffuser for the flash head) is probably a good choice. Let me give you a link that will definitely help improve your flash photography with your 430EX: www.planetneil.com There is some very useful info. here if you take a bit of time to read it.

Good luck!

If you cannot bounce it, the omni-bounce (plastic diffuser for the flash head) is probably a good choice.
If you can't bounce, the 'Omni-Bounce' is completely useless.

Like most flash 'accessories', the Omni-bounce is meant to spread the light out or at least separate it so that while some goes out to bouce (off of a ceiling for example) some of it also goes directly to the subject or to other surfaces for bouncing. The Lightsphere, for example, spreads light in all directions, with the hope that it will hit something and bounce back.