IgsEMT

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.pictureperfectny.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi All,
Just wondering if I can get feedback on few of these. My background is more of wedding/portraits/event photography but recently I was approach to shoot some stuff for a jeweler. Product photography is a bit different then what I normally do thus prior to take on the assignment, I thought to get a little practice.

Camera: Nikon d90 mounted with Nikon 28-105 3.5-4.5 D IF AF (macro 50-105)
Exposure: ISO 200, 1/200sec, f/8,
WB: costume WB via gray card,
Metering: Centered (Kind of irrelevant since I shoot mostly manual anyways)
Processing: Capture NX2 with Nik's Color Efex
Lighting: NIKON SB800 and SB600 at manual settings 1/128power about a 12in from subjects on both sides (90degrees with respect to camera). SB800 mounted with omnibounce, SB600 mounted with DIY bounce card (front foil)
The actual assignment will be shot using D300 (borrow from studio)

(white paper as background)
2009122124_009-vi.jpg

2 gray card as background
2009122124_014-vi.jpg

gray card as background
2009122124_015-vi.jpg

Thanks

Last edited:
To me, in #2 the shine off of the jewelery helps it jump out where you used the gray card as a background. I think I like #2 the best. Did the jeweler decide the positioning for the rings? #3 is a little difficult to differentiate the 3 different rings and the shadow created by the diamond looks too harsh.

Edit: I just saw that this was practice for the real shoot. Keep in mind that you will probably need to shoot in color so that you get an actual representation of what the jewelry will look like. I think you did a better job of capturing the color in #1 than you did in #3.

Last edited:
I'd PP these a lot and give it a darker background to make the jewelry pop. Also, I think they're a little slanted, an easy fix though. Shooting jewelry is fun, ring shots are some of my favorites from weddings.