Full Frame SLRs...why or why not?

Big

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
coffmanimages.webs.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
What is it about full frame DSLR cameras that make them "professional" over crop sensor cameras?:scratch: I mean, it may be dumb to say but couldn't you just stand a couple feet further back to get more in the shot (in some cases)? I have been using a crop sensor P&S for a few years now and never really considered it to be a problem. I have been looking at the Canon 50D and comparing it to the 5D Mark II. For one, I don't want to wait to save up all that extra money when I can hardly wait to get one as it is. I would be doing mostly landscape (sunrise/sets), wildlife, macro and indoor shooting with low light on occasions. I know a full frame will handle low light better than a crop sensor due to less pixel density per sq. cm (I do my fair share of research!) but what makes it that much better than the 50D especially when the 50D seems to be a better choice for sports or action photography since it shoots 6.3 vs 3.9fps?
Thanks -BIG

It's not so much the crop factor as the size of the sensor itself. What makes a DSLR better than a point and shoot? The main thing (image quality wise) is the much larger sensor. The same principle applies.....a much bigger sensor is going to capture much more data. It will have better dynamic range, much better noise at all iso levels (especially high ISO)...a crop sensor will never capture the same high iso performance as full frame. People are shooting stuff on full frame in the neighborhood of 24,000 iso compared to crop sensors that usually max out at 3200-6400. Plus a D700 at iso 3200-6400 looks about as clean as a D90 (which itself is good for higher iso) at around 800.

Edit: I don't know much about Canon's. All of what I said above was basically comparing a D3/D700 to a D90/D300....as Nikon full frame vs. crop is where my knowledge lies (and ends...lol).