Getting new laptop. Need something for editing...

Santana25

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have a really nice HP Pavillion, but I am beginning to dabble in photography and editing. I am by no means a professional, but some shots I took at a friend's wedding have gotten some pretty amazing reviews. I am looking at getting a new laptop and was wondering if a tablet or something like the HP tx2 would be helpful. I like the idea of being able to use the touchscreen and stylus, but I also need it for my everyday computer use (email, surfing... ect). Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!

This thread will only turn into a MAC vs. PC pissin contest. I own both, but do my photo editing on my macbook pro.

As far as platform goes, even moreso today I think it's worth looking at the Windows vs. Mac debate. Now, if your budget is < $1000, Windows is pretty much your only option for a portable.

That said, if you are willing to spend $1200-$1600, a lot more options open up, on both the Windows and PC side:

Windows: I would stay clear of Dell, but that's my personal opinion. Having a Dell Small Business account, I've bought probably 10 or so Dell machines since 2000, a mix of laptops and desktops, and the more recent ones I had nothing but problems with.

HP makes good stuff, I recently bought my mom a 15" HP laptop and it's pretty nice. I'd focus on HP or Asus if you are looking at a Windows laptop. Something with at least 4GB of RAM, 320gb HDD, SD card slot, and a Core 2 Duo (or a new i5) at the least.

Mac: I personally have a 15" MacBook Pro from 2009. You can't get Blu-ray, but they come standard with 4GB of RAM, built in SD, and at least 320GB HDD. The 13" in my opinion are just too small for photo editing unless you use an external monitor (my wife has a 13" MBP, and I can't stand the screen).