Getting your tripod really wet??

250Gimp

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been thinking about using my tripod in some wet and snowy conditions.

What do you think about putting your tripod legs right into a creek or snow?

I wouldn't put the joints into the mud, but they would be in the water or snow.

Can't wait to hear your thoughts.

Cheers :D

Won't bother them unless its salt water. I have put my tripod in many creeks in the mountains but while I was at the ocean, it basically destroyed it because I only washed it off once the whole week. Don't do that. In freshwater, it should be fine.

~Michael~

I'm not a tripod expert, but most, if not all, are made of aluminum or plastic so rust isn't a problem. The biggest concern would be dirt in the moving / sliding parts. For the two cheapo tripods I have, that would be about knee deep. I would leave the legs extended until I could clean them off before sliding them back into the body. A good spray with a hose and then a wipe down should do the trick.

I wouldn't worry about it either. Its equipment designed to serve a purpose, now get out there and use it! Just ribbing you, but I wouldn't hesitate doing it to get a great shot!

Derrick

The only tripod I have is a cheapo $20 thing from Walmart. I've had it for years, and it's been in mud, water, snow, you name it. It still works perfectly fine. Of course you'll want to make sure to clean it off afterwards, but that's not much of a problem.

I've got a nice Manfrotto and I wouldn't even hesitate to put it in the snow/water. Even salt water would be ok if you washed it off when you were done. Besides if it get's you THE shot, what's it matter what happens to the tripod. lol

Like all the above If I hesitated from going in the elements I would not get shots like these.

Sora107copy.jpg

I was set up in about 3 feet of water for this shot
and in marsh muck for this

Shorebirdsandfinches134juizacopy.jpg