Gimme Everything You've Got

Discussion in 'Critique Forum Archives' started by Lycanimanomaly, Aug 16, 2006.

1. Lycanimanomaly

Lycanimanomaly TPF Noob!

Hey everybody,
    I've been into photography for the past year 1/2 and everything that I've learned has been self-taught. This'll be my first photo critique and I want you to give me everything you've got. I want to get good enough to become a freelance photographer. So what do you think?

[​IMG]

I took this with an Olympus D-595 Zoom.
    This is me and my ex.
    We're sitting on a large vine that's naturally endowed with 2 seats. There was a tree on either side of us (you can partially see the tree on the right) and I wanted to get both trees in the shot to frame everything but somehow i failed to get the left one completely.

Anyway, I'd love some good constructive criticism on this. Thanks!

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Well the first thing I noticed was that she has a tree growing out of her head.

I can kind of see how you were trying to frame it with the trees...but I think it would work better if you cropped closer. All the stuff around you isn't adding much so get rid of it.

It's a little soft and grainy (noisy)...most of which is probably a limitation of the camera.

I do like the sepia tint you have here, and the whole concept of you two sitting on the vine. It's a nice moment.

3. rmh159

rmh159 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Yeah I agree with Big Mike... I think cropping it to be a vertical shot might help clean it up a bit and put the focus of the shot and you and your ex. Not bad though...

4. Lycanimanomaly

Lycanimanomaly TPF Noob!

ok i've made the suggested changes.
    I was so comfortable with the original version of this pic that i'm not sure if the changes i've made look right.
    In addition to cropping it i also brightened it a bit.