Good beginner Camera?? hi..

Disfunctional

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
hey I'm new to this hobby, ive always loved it but never had the camera for it just a little digy....

I was wondering before i get a camera, is the Nikon 10.2 D40X a good camera or just asking for trouble and issues?

Remember im just a beginner i dont need anything that can shot for the stars... just a good reliable camera....

thanks.

That would be a very good camera for what you want it to do. I would also compare it to the Canon counterpart, and also look for a D50 D70 or D80 so that you don't have lens limitations, but if the lens limitation think does not bother you go for the d40x.

yes i was looking at a few of those you mentioned, but one of them i cant remember was like $1,500 thats alittle high for right now, this is just a x-mas gift im aloud to pick out, i have limits... lol

i would like to get a camera that gives me choices of lens, i really want a lens thats like 500-800 $$ i think its a macro or micro?

thanks for all the warm welcomes.

Personally, I wouldn't go with the D40 or D40x, because there are some lenses that you cannot use with those cameras. It may not seem like it now, but in the future you will want those lenses that happen to not fir the D40 and D40x. I would go for the D70 or D80 (good camera).

Well since you seem interested in different lenses (like the macro/micro you mentioned above) Would recommend a D50 you can still buy it new for about the same as the D40x and it does not have the lens limitations.

in opinion which is better for its money...

1. D40 or D40X

2. which is more reliable

3. Do MP's really matter? whats the point if its higher lower whatever.
i understand quility of the picture but does it make that BIG of a difference?

sorry im such a NEWBIE! haha