Got a new macro lense - HELP!

GYFÄP

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there,

I just bought a brand new Sigma macro lense for my Canon 400D and I've never used a macro lense before. It was my big dream to take photos of insects etc. close up, but I have no idea how to handle this lense, to be honest. Please help me! :( this is what bothers me:

1) All of my pictures (taken inside with a lamp as a spot OR taken outside in natural light) seem to be over exposed somehow? I tried to adjust my ISO but it doesn't seem to work.. Along with that the picture tends to get very blurry.

2) When
I use AF it's like the lense panicks and is completly unable to stay still and focus when up close.

3) ... And it doesn't matter if I use AF or manual focus, it still doesn't seem as though the lense can go very close to the object?

Can someone please tell me what to do? I'm dying to shoot good photographs!

Thanks in advance :heart:

Ok here is how I shoot macro

1) set the lens to manual focusing - auto focus is not going to help you at macro levels

2) turn the foucs all the way round (it should have markers in yellow on the focus info on the lens go to 1:1 - that is full magnifcation - as close as you can focus)

3) with that done find a subject - once found move the lens and camera closer until you get into focus (this is a by feel part and the more you shoot the more familer you will be with the range of your lens). You will probably have to rock very gently back and forth to get the foucs right where you want it to be.

4) when focusing half depress the shutter button (which would normally activate auto focus) that will not only give you the confirmation red blip which can sometimes help, but also means that when you press the shutter you create less motion from the hand action.