Greetings from Los Angeles!

MrDouglasQuaid

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello Everyone!

I very very recently stumbled into this. I'm a musician and wanted to hire someone to do film photography for an album cover idea I had. But then I figured that would be a big missed opportunity to learn myself. I settled on trying to find an older 35mm. But I wasn't expecting to go this old! With about 20 min remaining on an eBay auction, I came across this 1936 Contax iii. The price with everything included was too great to pass up so I went for it. I was familiar with the later iiA and iiiA but not this one. I am happy to report it seems to function perfectly with the exception of the light meter. So I picked up a Voigtlander meter. The slow and fast shutter speeds seem to work without issue and the lens has no issues. I'm still waiting for a couple of things to do my first test roll.

I already feel very attached to the camera! It feels a lot like finding a special guitar. This just feels like the right one. And I'm certainly going to be doing a whole lot more with it than album art.

I'm very excited to learn from all of you and your work! Nice meeting you all!
IMG_9591.jpg

Sorry I have no knowledge of older film cameras but......I wanted to say I LOVE that table and would like to see more of your dog in the background. Beautiful looking dog that it is.....Cheers and welcome.

Sorry I have no knowledge of older film cameras but......I wanted to say I LOVE that table and would like to see more of your dog in the background. Beautiful looking dog that it is.....Cheers and welcome.
Thank you! I actually made that table so that's nice to hear! And that's Mila, and she will most definitely be heavily featured on my first roll of film.
IMG_7839.jpg

That table yeah I'd like to see more of it and it's pretty heavy right?....The dog is beautiful and unique.

Woodworker also!

Nicely done.

Nice catch on the camera!