Having trouble with focus

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by keller, Jan 29, 2006.

  1. keller

    keller TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ugh, just uploaded some of my flower pics, and the flower is all out of focus.

    Does anyone know how to get focus right?

    At the moment, I just set the aperture (for blurred backgrounds), point the camera's focusing centre at the object, then re-compose and shoot. Why isn't my camera getting things right? Is there any mistakes I might have made?

    (I was using a digital compact)
     
  2. Digital Matt

    Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,346
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Without seeing the pictures, my guess is that you are trying to focus closer than your camera can focus. See if your camera has macro mode, which could be denoted by a small flower graphic. This will allow you to focus closer.
     
  3. kfoster

    kfoster TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    When your shooting macro with very little depth of field you have to be careful that you dont move the camera when you press the shutter release. The slighest movement will make the shot blurry. You also need to be careful what your focusing on. Since you dont have any depth of field you need to make sure your focusing on the part of the flower that you DO want in focus because the rest of it and the background probably wont be.

    What apeture are you shooting at? You dont necessily have to shot wide open to blur the background especially when shooting up close. Shooting at f/8 or f/5.6 should give you a blurred background but keep the whole flower in focus.

    K
     
  4. Rob

    Rob TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    London
    Using this method is probably locking the focus, when you then re-compose, it may be that there's enough movement to push the picture out of focus.

    Rob
     
  5. keller

    keller TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went back to check again, and it turns out you're right. I must've altered the camera slightly when I re-focused (I guess "slightly" turns into "a lot" in macro mode), and pressing the button also gave it a bit of a shake.
     
  6. Rob

    Rob TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    London
    Yep. Less than a millimeter will stuff it up in most cases. I have a Nikon macro lens, the 135mm I seem to recall. I never use it because it's DAMN IMPOSSIBLE to focus in the real world. It's ok for a table top composition, and worked a dream on my F100, but on the manual cameras I now use it's a disaster area, you just can't use it for flowers - the wretched things move. I now have a pathological hatred of flowers.

    Rob
     
  7. Torus34

    Torus34 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Tottenville, Staten Island, NYC USA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hint: Tripod and cable release -- and patience.

    Regards.
     
  8. Rob

    Rob TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    London
    Hint: sod patience, get some secateurs, chop the damn thing off and take it indoors, fix it down with gaffer tape and shoot it with a light tent! :)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
niko f100 difficulty focusing
,

trouble with focus photography