Help making a photography website!??!!

JaJaPumBA

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok Im fairly new to phtography but im better then I was a year ago so Im trying to veture out and do some cheap portrait photography to kinda get my name out there and also for some practice. I want to make a website to kinda show what im going to offer... Any suggestions on where I could go to start???

Any suggestions on where I could go to start
Check out plenty of other photographer's web sites. Make note of things you do like and things you don't. Look for inspiration.

where do i need to go to start one?! anyone know where are some good places to start one? I looked on Yahoo but their sites are free and they look crappy to me...but i guess cause that is because its free lol...but I know Im going to have to pay something to have a nice site and im ready and willing

JaJaPumBA,

I am a web desginer, and would recommend not going the free way. Getting a free setup will greatly limit your abilities now and in the future.

you'll need A) a web domain (www.JaJaPumBA.com or whatever), B) a web host (place to store your stuff), and C) a website

A and B) www.site5.com is who I would recommend. I have my websites hosted through several places, and site5 is not only my favorite, but the cheapest. It's also been around for the longest (since 98). You can get like 110 GIGS of space for 5 bucks/month. That's for hosting(B), and then it's $17 for 2 years of a domain(A).

C) Get a web designer, or go to www.monstertemplates.com to get a template to work with, or invest in Dreamweaver which makes it rather simple to get a website up, if you have basic knowledge of HTML. Dreamweaver is pricey though. However, every now and then, you can get dreamweaver licenses that fell off a truck... I'm not recommending this for obvious reasons.

I have www.w3Bolivar.com which is a very simple website hosted through site5.com.