Help! New here..

kszymczak

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
i am brand new to this site. my name is Katie and i have a Nikon D3300. i bought the camera to use for random photography, indoor hockey games(ice and roller), and car shows. i got a bundle with an 18-55mm included when i purchased the camera. i have ZERO experience as far as any courses/teaching in photography. i like to teach myself things so i thought this would be fun to learn. maybe i havent figured out how to use my camera/lens to their full potential but i feel like my photos just arent cutting it (outdoor is fine, indoor hockey is my issue here).

i mostly use the quick settings that give you options to shoot for portraits, distant objects, sports, etc. for the appropriate subject. however, a lot of my photos that i take of indoor hockey turn out very dark and not sharp. granted, i do have to shoot through thick, scuffed up glass sometimes but even without that obstacle sometimes my photos turn out dark and not clear at all compared to others.

again, i have only experimented with my camera and have had no training/photography education... any recommendations as to a better lens to purchase next? any tips to help me take good photos with the lens that i have now? any tips are appreciated :)

First learn how to use your camera outside thew Auto mode.
Go on youtube and see what are the 3 basics ISO, Shutter Speed and Aperture.

As for lenses to shoot in lower light situation then you can start with the Nikon 50mm 1.8G, this will get you better low light performance and will not cost you too much.
Getting other lenses for sports will be more expensive, good fast zoom will cost you more then your camera.

I learned photography by trial and error. I read much about it and took many pictures in all kinds of settings.
But it can take years before you mastered it. But as it is a hobby you probably like it. :)