HELP: Olympus E- PL3 or Nikon 1 J1 (for a beginner)?

yuunhaa

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi there!

So I'm new to photography and I've been looking for a new camera for a while now. I've always wanted an Olympus E-P1/2/3 but it's too expensive for me and also a bit unneccesary since I'm still a beginner. So I was considering to buy the light version: Olympus E-PL3. But lately the television kept showing a commercial of Nikon 1 J1 which seemed really nice too. Now I'm hesitating between these two cameras. But to be honest I have no idea which one is better regarding to specifications etc. I only know the Olympus one has more pixels than the Nikon one lol. And the Olympus one has a flexible screen which you can adjust up to a point. Also, i don't understand what these numbers of the lenses mean
:meh: Olympus: M.Zuiko Digital 14-42mm/ F3,5 - F5,6; Nikon: 10-30mm/f3.5-5.6 VR zoom.
Oh and the price of both cameras are ok for me.

I'm hoping to get some advice from you people who have more knowledge about cameras :D

Thanks in advance!! :blushing:

I would avoid the Nikon J1; it seems to be a camera that Nikon rushed through R&D to try and capture a market share best described as the "Teen-age girl" market. It's very poorly made, has a very small sensor, and poor ergonomics. THe Olympus seems to be overall a much better camera (Don't worry a lot about the # of mega-pixels; it doesn't mean as much as you might think). One other consideration is the Sony Nex series; many stores here are clearing out the 5 and 5n models in preparation for the 7, and they are excellent cameras in their class.

Have you seen the new Thom Hogan web site devoted to mirrorless cameras? It's located at Welcome to sans Mirror | Sans Mirror ? mirrorless, interchangeable lens cameras | Thom Hogan