Help Requested: Nikon D3300 + Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED IF AF-S VR

MChan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I uploaded two bird pics that are representative of some of the problems I'm encountering with using this new lens (I'm sure the problems are on the user end, by the way!).

Here are the details for each image:

DSC 2191 (Eurasian Dove): Shot free hand, Shutter Priority, 185mm, ISO 3200, 1/1000, F/5

DSC 2212 (Robin): Freehand, Shutter Priority, 300mm, ISO 2000, 1/1600, F 5.6

Whether using this lens outdoors, like this, or indoors, I cannot seem to get rid of the white noise, which I (as a beginner) would normally associate with too much ISO. I'm very new to photography and would appreciate any help you all can provide. Thanks!

Attachments

• DSC_2191.JPG
    3.9 MB · Views: 203
  • DSC_2212_01.JPG
    3.5 MB · Views: 203
Last edited:
With a D3300 I would have shot at 800 ISO or less. I find you start getting more noise above 800 ISO and you really start getting noise above 1600 ISO, irregardless of what Nikon says. I assume you had VR on, but you seem to be getting some camera shake or focus issues also.

Last edited:
One thing. Your VR was ON/Normal. Anytime you shoot above Shutter Speed 1/500 approx you'll want to turn VR off. I can see image ghosting of items even at your high shutter speed probably from the VR.

with the higher ISOs you'll have to do some more post processing and use the black slider to help. Or use some noise software to help eliminate it. but the d3300 is not a super high ISO camera.

from EXIF
VR Info Version 0100
Vibration Reduction On
Nikon VR Info 0x0005 1
VR Mode Normal
Nikon VR Info 0x0007 0