Help with flash syncing

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by eric-holmes, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. eric-holmes

    eric-holmes No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I was doing some test shots with my v4 triggers I just got today and I noticed some weird things when I upped the shutter speed. How am I supposed to shoot greater than 200 when I am outside and I am using my flash? It seems like it would be a necessity.

    [​IMG]
    Camera Maker: NIKON CORPORATION
    Camera Model: NIKON D90
    Image Date: 2010:06:24 17:25:18
    Focal Length: 62mm (35mm equivalent: 93mm)
    Aperture: f/8.0
    Exposure Time: 0.0050 s (1/200)
    ISO equiv: 200
    Exposure Bias: none
    Metering Mode: Center Weight
    Exposure: Manual
    Exposure Mode: Manual
    White Balance: Auto
    Flash Fired: No




    [​IMG]
    Camera Maker: NIKON CORPORATION
    Camera Model: NIKON D90
    Image Date: 2010:06:24 17:25:23
    Focal Length: 62mm (35mm equivalent: 93mm)
    Aperture: f/8.0
    Exposure Time: 0.0040 s (1/250)
    ISO equiv: 200
    Exposure Bias: none
    Metering Mode: Center Weight
    Exposure: Manual
    Exposure Mode: Manual
    White Balance: Auto
    Flash Fired: No




    [​IMG]
    Camera Maker: NIKON CORPORATION
    Camera Model: NIKON D90
    Image Date: 2010:06:24 17:25:34
    Focal Length: 62mm (35mm equivalent: 93mm)
    Aperture: f/8.0
    Exposure Time: 0.0031 s (1/320)
    ISO equiv: 200
    Exposure Bias: none
    Metering Mode: Center Weight
    Exposure: Manual
    Exposure Mode: Manual
    White Balance: Auto
    Flash Fired: No
     
  2. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    High speed sync.

    Not sure what flash you have, but it should be an option.

    The reason the max sync speed is what it is, is because that is the fastest shutter speed where both curtains are open at the same time.

    High speed sync works by firing a series of pulses, like a strobe.

    On Canon flashes, the button has a lightning bolt looking thing with an H next to it. Not sure what it is on Nikon flashes.
     
  3. camz

    camz No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Yeah that tends to be an issue with triggers with no High Speed sync with your flash. When I used my pocket wizards Plus II where I couldn't go any faster then 1/250th, I was shooting narrow at maybe f/12 and up outside at harsh lighting. That's just the name of the game with triggers like these.

    I ended up getting the Pocket Wizards Flex TT5 last year and since it has high speed sync with my flashes I can pretty much shoot wide open.
     
  4. camz

    camz No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    josh beat me too it =)
     
  5. eric-holmes

    eric-holmes No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Sorry, I have an sb-600
     
  6. sovietdoc

    sovietdoc TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    rest of the world
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    A question not entirely relevant to this post; I almost never use flash but just to see if I am doing things right when I am:

    On the camera I got, there are 2 settings for built-in flash. First curtain and second curtain. I assume its when the flash fires, how significant is it and what do you do with that. Also, when using flash, everything is always too white. The only way to help that is to get an external flash where you can tell it how much power to use ?
     
  7. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    OK - did a little googling. The SB-600 does have FP high speed sync. The manual should tell you how to turn it on.
     
  8. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    This gives a pretty good explanation of 2nd curtain sync:
    An Explanation of 2nd Curtain Sync Flash (or Slow Sync Flash)

    As far as the pop-up flash - you can use Flash Exposure Compensation to help a little, but that's about all you can do...
     
  9. eric-holmes

    eric-holmes No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Ok, the manual says it has to be turned on via the camera??? I have done this but I guess the cactus v4s do not communicate this information.
     
  10. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    That must be the case...
     
  11. Moe

    Moe TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Kauai, Hawaii
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Not sure about the D90, but the D40 has a max sync speed (according to the manual) of 1/500. However, with my Cactus V4's I was consistently able to push this to 1/640 and most of the time 1/800. Since the D700, though, its max sync speed is 1/250. This cannot be pushed, at least in my experience. Even at 1/250 there is a hint of darkening at the bottom of the frame. This doesn't change using with CLS or Cactus V4's. You can use FP sync for CLS to push it to 1/320, I believe (read the manual or use "the google").

    On a side note, I just recently learned you can select FP sync with the SB-600 on camera and choose your max shutter speed. I shot a pic the other day (an experimental pic, nothing special) in broad daylight at f 3.5 and shutter speed of 1/8000. Yes one/eight thousandth! Obviously, this isn't off cam flash, but can be a cool effect. Not sure if you can do this with the D90.

    An off-camera flash with high speed sync would be very cool. Just another thing on my ever-growing list. I believe most photos you see overpowering the sun is an effect of flash power, not shutter speed. Their strobes (studio, not hotshoe flashes) have such power that they are able to choose a small aperture to overpower the sun while still using a shutter speed of 1/200 or so.
     
  12. Josh66

    Josh66 Been spending a lot of time on here!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    You should be able to, with the flash on camera.
    (OP, try it - then you'll know for sure.)
     

Share This Page