Help with HDR

Discussion in 'Graphics Programs and Photo Gallery' started by e36style, Nov 17, 2008.

  1. e36style

    e36style TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I've always enjoyed photography and i've been messing around with my camera, Rebel XT, and i've done a few HDR images that turned out very nice. This is one of my favorites
    [​IMG]

    and lately none of my HDR images have turned out well. the settings are the same on the camera as they used to be. but all my pictures turn out grainy. In M mode i set the iso to 400 and AEB to -2, 0, and +2. Tommorow i'm going to try iso at 100 and see if it makes a difference. I've tried photomatix, FDR tools, and Qtpfsgui. but i can't seem to get results i like.
    i was wondering if someone could take three of my pictures and make a nice hdr image out of them. I'm curious if i'm doing something wrong or if i need to change the settings on my camera.

    here are three images i would like someone to use, if you don't mind.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Thanks for your help! :mrgreen:
     
  2. ann

    ann No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,263
    Likes Received:
    189
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    keep your ISO as low as possible, even at 400 there will be added grain.

    all of these programs call for "tweaking" after the merging , so it is a matte of sitting down and working with all the sliders to get the results you want.
     
  3. 92sir

    92sir TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Guelph Ontario
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    ya you have to keep the iso low not matter what. I tried to make a hdr out of those pictures but with no luck. It seems like the exposures are to close together even though you said you did -2,0,+2. One should be fairly overexposed and one fairly underexposedand one the proper exposure. To me it looks like you have one almost the proper exposure and two darker. Keep us updated on the shots you take at iso 100 or iso 200.
     
  4. Fox Paw

    Fox Paw TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I like your shot. With Photomatix, you might boost the micro-smoothing and see if that cuts down on the noise/graininess.

    I dissent a little about the ISO. Unless it's dead still, I tend to set it at 400 to get a faster shutter speed and less movement. Then I use noise reduction. If conditions permit, yeah, keep it low.
     
  5. e36style

    e36style TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Thanks for the help, i noticed that too that pictures seemed to have one of the correct exposure and 2 darker, is that due to my ISO being higher than it should?
    I've never been taught how to use the camera nor have i had any formal education in photography. I've just read through the manual and fiddled around until i got shots that i liked.
    Tomorrow, assuming i get off work before it's dark outside, i'll try some pictures with the ISO at 100.
    Right now i'm using manual exposure mode for AEB. I had both the shutter and apperture in mid range, i lowered them both and it took better shots in dark lighting. I'm sure this is camera basics, but i'm assuming high shutter speed + aperture is better for well lit scenes and vice versa?
    Once again thank you for the help!
     
  6. e36style

    e36style TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I was messing around with my camera today. i put it on av mode and took 5 different exposures. this is what i came up with
    [​IMG]
     
  7. LaFoto

    LaFoto Just Corinna in real life Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    34,814
    Likes Received:
    814
    Location:
    Lower Saxony, Germany
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    That desk and keyboard need to be cleaned!!!! Ugh :pale:

    (As does your sensor, which shows clearly in the first photo you showed us, the HDR you really liked - which I understand: the dust bunny is in the tip of that darker cloud right above the nearest tree).
     
  8. abraxas

    abraxas No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,417
    Likes Received:
    9
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    [​IMG]
     
  9. ksmattfish

    ksmattfish Now 100% DC - not as cool as I once was, but still

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,021
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Lawrence, KS
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    You are shooting into the light, and the meter is fooled into under-exposing. I think you need at least one more over-exposed shot in the above posted set. You will get even better results with HDR using 5 or 7 bracketed shots than just 3.

    I'd say the noise is coming from the underexposed shots. Noise shouldn't be a problem at ISO 400 when properly exposed, and whenever you combine multiple exposures it should lessen noise issues. The grain is different in every exposure, and when it's layered together it cancels out some of the noise from other layers.
     
  10. Fox Paw

    Fox Paw TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Nice job, abraxas.
     
  11. e36style

    e36style TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    the picture i took of my desk is 5 exposures. i wish my camera could do more than 3 different exposures, when i went to menu to change the exposure levels i moved the camera a bit, but auto align fixed it. I think the reason i haven't had good shots lately is because i've been using the M mode instead of TV or AV. Since i'm still new to photography i don't really know what i should set the aperature or shutter speed to.
     
  12. chente922

    chente922 TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I dont know if you're using a tripod but you're suppose to get the shots perfectly still for HDRs so always shoot at ISO 100 since the camera is going to be motionless anyways, I've posted some of my HDRs here, you could take a look on my flickr account too... also you should remember that over worked HDRs (those that look really dramatic) may get noisy because of the post processing, try shooting in RAW too
     

Share This Page