Help with Nikon D100

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by Westone, Oct 24, 2008.

  1. Westone

    Westone TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I’m having a problem with my new Nikon D100. I don’t seem to be able to use my AI manual focus lens with the camera. What I’m trying to do is get the camera set up so I can pick the F-stop and focus the lens manually. When I switch the focus dial to M, the rest of the camera will not function. I do have several lens that are auto focus, and they work well, except when the auto focus says things are in focus, the view finder image is not in focus. It’s just a little off. When using the manual focus lens I am able to get a fine focus look through the view finder. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
    Chuck
     
  2. epp_b

    epp_b No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,135
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    True North Cold and Freezing
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Define "will not function".

    Have you adjusted the viewfinder diopter?
     
  3. Westone

    Westone TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Adjusted eyepeice .... No! I will and I thank you for the heads up. Once I set the Camera and lens to M I can use the camera. What I'm looking for is to let the camera set the speed, while set the f-stop. This will allow me to use my AI lens.
    Chuck
     
  4. djacobox372

    djacobox372 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,925
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    The D100 will not meter with non-cpu lenses (lenses without a digital cpu-connection)... you can shoot in manual mode, but you have to "guess and check" the exposure.

    The d200, d300, d3, and d700 allow for TTL metering with non-cpu lenses.
     
  5. Westone

    Westone TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    That sucks! The only reason I bought the D100 was because I have a room full of Nikon AI gear. F2, F3, FM, N65 and now the D100. I do alot of macro work and without the ability to use lens I'm used to I'm over a barrel. So I need a D200 ...... Grrrrrr.
    Chuck
     
  6. bhop

    bhop No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit

    Bummer... although, with macro shots, since your subject's usually stationary, you can usually get away with chimping. (looking at the lcd, then making adjustments). I have to do that with my d70 and some older lenses of mine. It's only "slightly" annoying..
     
  7. Flash Harry

    Flash Harry TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Buy a lightmeter. H
     
  8. Westone

    Westone TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I have a number of them. But this will not solve my situation. Thanks.
    Chuck
     
  9. djacobox372

    djacobox372 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,925
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hmmm... you can use the lenses... you just can't meter the light. But with a digital, it's not to hard to guess, check, and adjust--heck you may even learn a bit more about exposure. ;)

    A D200 will cost you about $400 more then what you can sell your d100 for. But it's a worthy upgrade, its improvements over the d100 are too many to list.
     
  10. Westone

    Westone TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I think I need to ask some kind person to help me with the digital thing. It is my understanding that the Pixel count has a great deal to do with picture sharpness and therefore the maximum size a print can be obtained. I see the D1X has 5 or so meg. P. The D100 has more. Is this saying that the D100 can render a larger print? I've heard from another photographer that the D1X transends that rule. So ..... now to the meat of the help. I've been a film photographer for 30 + years, most of my print sizes are in the 16X20" range. How many Meg. Pics. do I need to get a sharp image at 16X20". (I'm still missing my old Panatomic _ X ASA-25 B&W film) Any help would be greatly apprciated. Thank you.
    Chuck
     
  11. Westone

    Westone TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Got a D1X and all my problems are solved. Not enough looking around on my part. Thanks to all for the input.
    Chuck
     
  12. djacobox372

    djacobox372 No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,925
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Good for you... mega-pixels aren't everything the quality of the sensor means more then the number of individual pixels.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
autofocus not working on nikon d100
,
d100 autofocus not working
,
how do you put on manual focus on the nikon d100
,
how many d100 nikon still used
,
macro option in nikon d100
,
my nikon d100 wont focus
,
nikon d100 autofocus not working
,

nikon d100 macro setting

,
nikon d100 will not focus
,
set auto focus on nikon d100