Hi Everyone! Please look at my photos, I need help! (:

Ashlorraine

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone! So I am really having trouble taking photos with the sunset in the background. The lighting is so beautiful and I just wish I could capture it properly. I am a newbie to photography and would really appreciate your advice! I tried using some flash but then the background is overexposed because when the flash is on it wont let me put the shutter speed past 1/200. Here are some examples of photos where I had this issue. You can also give other opnions/advice on my photos if you want, anything that will help me improve! Thanks so much! I have a Nikon D60 w/ 18-55mm lens.

4591235426_8d05018f0f.jpg

1/800 iso: 400 f/5.6
This was definitely the worst one! :/ Ocean sunset photos were a huge challenge for me

4591225982_6a9b9b27f0.jpg

1/100 iso: 400 f/5.6
This one isn't so bad? I just wish the lady bug werent quite so dark...

4591278110_8607603e77.jpg

1/320 iso: 300 f/5.6
I took many photos like this but right up behind this dandelion with the light shining through. They came out so terribly that I immediately deleted them so I don't have them to show.

4590603309_b976e3825a.jpg

1/125 iso:400 f/5.6
Here is me trying to avoid the sun by shooting at an angle. Still came out dark though. I thought flash would have ruined the warm/golden tone?

4590614969_70073ed71f.jpg

1/500 iso: 400 f/5.6
This one didn't exactly have the issue I described but I just wanted to know what you think of it?

Thank you so much, I really appreciate your help! :)

Last edited:
Ashlorraine
You are shooting directly at the sun. That is not an easy feat, even for a good photographer.

Change the angle you are shooting from and see what happens. That will be a good start.