Hi there from North Port, FL

TommyF

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all. My name is Tom and I used to be an ameteur photo hobbyist, and I mean really really ameteur. It started when I bought my first SLR camera about 15 years ago. It was a Canon Rebel 2000. I played with it for a few years and took some awesome photos. Then I had to actually make a living and havent used anything but your basic point and shoot since then. I just bought a new camera for my wife. It's a Canon Powershot SX120 and I must say that point and shoot cameras have come a long way. So long in fact, that I got out the old Canon Rebel 2000 and will start toying around again. So I got the bug again and I am hoping to learn a few things and take some really good pictures again, hopefully with some guidance from some of you. I look forward to reading and posting. Cheers!!

Welcome to TPF!

When you shoot film, don't forget that when you develop your images, you can have them copied to a CD / DVD, then load the images to your PC, and then handle them digitally with the same software used by those with digital cameras.

Dude..you totally answered what was going to be my next question to post. Que the eerie music. So I dont have to sell an appendage to scrape up enough dough for a DSLR? You probably just saved my marriage. I already love this forum.

I ain't a dude, just an old fart who doesn't see any sense in spending money just to see it go bye-bye.

Take a DSLR for example, when the newest technology replaces current models, causing prices to drop, that is when I buy. I will buy a D90 when the "D91" has been out for a few months, and price of D90 drops like a rock. I shoot with a D80 that I spent about $275.00 (had < 1,000 actuations when I bought it) net for after buying a whole camera bag as a package and sold off what I didn't need or want. It was originally like a $1,000 camera, so I got it for $0.30 cents on the dollar of the new price.