high speed trigger

ferny

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.blueyedmuffin.co.uk
I want to do some high speed photography so I'm going to need some type of trigger to fire the flash (which I'll have to buy I suspect), the camera and the event at the same time. I've no idea how to go about it. Perhaps something that would work by sound? Say I smashed a glass and I wanted it to record the second in starts to crack. Is there any way to make my own trigger?

The only camera that I've got to work with is my Dynax 5. It's the only camera I have that uses an electronic shutter release. I made my own one so that side of things is ok. But getting it all to work on a sound is where I'm going to struggle. I have no knowledge of things like that.

I think the way they do it is to leave the shutter open (bulb mode or long shutter time) in a dark studio and use a trigger (sound probably) to trigger a flash. Since the flash duration is so fast, that's the high speed.

So you would have to make a sound trigger for the flash. I read a tutorial somewhere but I'm not to electrically inclined so I didn't absorb any of the info. Should be easy to search for though.

I've been searching for ages. :mrgreen: I'm normally good with search engines. :(
I did think of leaving the shutter open, it never occurred to me to set the trigger to the flash only. :oops:
That's let me use the digital and the old manual cameras then.

I think it would be very hard to do it just with the shutter speed alone...image how much light you would need if the shutter was set at 1/8000.

I remember looking at a site that specialized in high speed photography. Stuff like bullets going through playing cards and fruit. Very cool stuff.

:edit:

That looks like a good web site to get you started. Good luck with it. Let us in on your progress.

I'm trying to find a place which sells a silicon-controlled rectifier. I can't. :scratch:
I bet there bloddy expensive. :mrgreen: