Histogram... How important?

roadkill

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Appearantly histograms seem to be really important. Call me amature (I am) but if by your eyes, you come to your desired effect and out come of your shot... who cares about what a histogram says. I am an extremely zealous student, and sometimes I get frustrated by these things that seem to make no sense to me. Is it a measure of what is correct in some standard set by someone? If the shot comes out how you want, then I don't understand why you would have to measure yourself against this.

Well, we worked without histograms in the film era. On the other hand (having come into digital about a year ago), I have come to love them. They make it alot easier to decide whether you have the information in an image (correct exposure) that will do what you want it to do when you sit down to PP it. If your shots always come out how you like (boy do I wish ....) , the histogram is superfluous.

If the shot comes out how you want then yes. To get that correct exposure (no matter what you are after) many people use the histogram to aid them. If (as your avatar shows) you are after an underexposed shot with lots of black, then the histogram can be used - where you are looking for more of the graph to be on the left hand side. The opposite is true if you were aiming for a highkey shot.

The other reason is that the histogram on a camera is more acurate at showing you areas over over and underexposure than the viewfinder preview of a shot - its also much quicker to glance at

I only see the histogram in pp. I compose the shot, (whether I want to over or under expose) then I shoot it. I guess I rely on my eyes and intuition as well as what I want to achieve in each particular shot to gain the outcome that I want. Doesn't veiwing a histogram say to you guys "Hey? Did I match my shot with what this thing says it should be?