How could I have done better?

PJM

TPF Supporters
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
That leaves a lot of open territory I'm sure. :1247:

I came across a couple of deer while wandering through my local state park yesterday. It was close to sunset and overcast so there wasn't much light. I set my shutter speed to 1/400 since I was using my 70-300 zoom lens (shooting handheld). Aperture was as wide open as I could get at long focal length. I had to set the ISO pretty high to get a reasonable exposure.

I'm a newbie so I will gladly take suggestions on how I could have captured a better image.

Nikon D5600 w/ 70-300 mm at 220 mm
f/6.3, 1/400, ISO 1280

lightly enhanced and cropped a bit.

DSC_0027 by Peter Martin, on Flickr

Thanks,
Pete

Attachments

• upload_2018-11-29_15-42-10.png
    upload_2018-11-29_15-42-10.png
    8.7 KB · Views: 144
  • image.png
    image.png
    8.3 KB · Views: 158
ISO 12800 is not something you want to do with that camera.
You would need a lens with a wider aperture and probably a better camera if you want to continue to shoot under that type of lighting more often.

That leaves a lot of open territory I'm sure. :1247:

I came across a couple of deer while wandering through my local state park yesterday. It was close to sunset and overcast so there wasn't much light. I set my shutter speed to 1/400 since I was using my 70-300 zoom lens (shooting handheld). Aperture was as wide open as I could get at long focal length. I had to set the ISO pretty high to get a reasonable exposure.

I'm a newbie so I will gladly take suggestions on how I could have captured a better image.

Nikon D5600 w/ 70-300 mm at 220 mm
f/6.3, 1/400, ISO 1280
Not much you can do about there being not enough light, it is what it is.