How do you talk about yourself?

W.Y.Photo

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
This topic has been on my mind lately.. How do we go about talking about ourselves and our work when the occasion arises and where is the line drawn between self-expression, self-promotion, and plain old bragging?

Talking about myself and the services I provide is an important part of running a business in photography, at the same time I am conflicted with what to say because on one hand, I want to be like: "Choose me, I'll take better photos than most of these pricks you're thinking of hiring" and on the other hand, even saying I'm a good photographer just seems wrong and self-absorbed... not because I lack skill but because I would rather my photos speak for themselves.

So... when you can't show someone pictures, how do you let people know what you do and how good you are at it?

This is also relatable to "About Me" sections on websites. This one in particular caught my eye so I thought I'd share it: JWJ Ferguson Cinematographer Director

Sort of doesn't matter how you talk about yourself if you begin by calling your competitors "pricks". I ain't gonna hire you.

That's my whole point of phrasing it like that in this context. To point out that it isn't good practice to do something like that. I don't actually do that.

I get what you are saying W.Y. photo.
I was in independent sales for 15 years. You had to 'tout' yourself but at the same time be a 'diplomat' so to speak. You couldn't trash others but wanted to show you were worth their business.
Lots if real pros here obviously but I usually let my work/clientele list do the talking.

It's like writing a resume. You "tout" all of your experience. It's not being a prick, it's showing your background and what you're capable of. It's a resume.