How important are mega pixels?

Rodney

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was wondering if I could ask your opinion. I have been a film photographer and am now switching to digital SLR. THe film camera that I used was a Pentax and I never really had any problems with it. So I was thinking that I would purchase another Pentax, only digital this time.
But for me, I have to be very aware of the financial end. I have been looking at the Nikon D3000 (10.2 MP) and the Pentax K-x(12.4MP)
My question is; how much difference in picture quality is there in regards to enlargements with the difference of 2MP?
As I mentioned before, money is tight so I don't want to throw any money away. Do not want to spend the money and then realize that I can't enlarge anything larger than an eight by ten.
Thank you in advance.

The difference between 12-10mp is not much.. there are other more important things to consider when choosing between two bodies/systems.

You can enlarge 10mp file to poster size if necessary.

Thank you for your reponse. But could you tell me what are the more important things to consider?
Thank you

dont look at just the MP number because the wider you go, the more pixels you need to fill. Look at the width of the pixels. The nikon has 3872 x 2592 resolution where the pentax has 4288x2848. So if you divide the width, it is only 10% increase in width.

a HUGE benefit of more megapixels is the crop factor. If you couldn't get as close as you wanted, but it's a large picture, you can crop the picture and still have enough pixels to print or post without graininess.

but the advantage of 10mp or 12mp is small even when considering crop...

Important things to consider:
1) Which of the systems has lenses that most interest what you shoot?
2) Nikon is in lens Image Stabilization while Pentax is In Body Stabilization.
3) Which of the two feel better in your hands... layout and operation make sense to you?
4) AF operation?