How many Pentiums in a D60?

dEARlEADER

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I just started shooting raw......

I took a batch of pic's of my son indoors lowlight @ ISO800

I'm using CaptureNX to do a little noise reduction, distortion control, and white balance adjustment.

I am running a batch program on 18 of these photo's... I've been waiting 15 minutes and there is STILL 3 photo's left for processing....

I have QUAD 2gig Pentiums and 3 gig RAM.... wtf????
I can see the performance meter and all four processors are running near 100%...

Either technology is moving fast and my 3 month old computer is already outdated or Capture NX is the biggest resource hog I've ever seen....

It kinda makes me wonder how many pentiums are crammed in the D60 as it's able to shoot 3 FPS...

I have a dual-core 2.26 and 2 gigs of RAM and processing my D300 raw images is pretty snappy with Photoshop. Dunno about CaptureNX... I couldn't figure out how to do anything useful in that software so I gave it up quickly.

I tired CaptureNX once. Too slow. Same problem here. Must be a processor hog. Also found that even the ViewNX was really slow when making adjustments to RAW files too.

CaptureNX is a bit of a sod, I was thinking I was due an new PC, but after this post maybe its the software that needs chucking at the same time.
So my PC is an old crate, Celeron D 2.6 and 1g of ram, NX ran pretty ok with 5mb D70 raw's, but recently I've been using my D200 more, the raw's are 15mb and NX is taking an ungodly amount of time to open them.
500mb of ram to open 1 raw is only a lot of memory if you only have 1gb to start with.
What does a quad pentium with 3g of ram run like opening images singularly ?

CaptureNX is a bit of a sod, I was thinking I was due an new PC, but after this post maybe its the software that needs chucking at the same time.