How to achieve that?

Brandt shoots digital. They're achieved with very sharp glass, extraordinary post-processing, and badass inkjet printers.

Thanks for the quick reply.

Wow ... Never though that could be digital!
I'm really a noob here ... What do you mean by sharp glass (lens?).
Also, any idea on the post processing setup?

Thanks!

It's not digital ... I sent an email directly to Nick Brandt and I got a quick reply (he's great!):
I shoot on medium format film - with the Pentax 67. I don't shoot
digital.
And I don't use telephoto lenses.

thanks

Nick

Theres your answer, Medium Format.. Learn to take good photo's develop them and print them and after some practice and know-how you should get pretty close!

Why the hell is he printing on inkjets if he's shooting film?

I still don't get it. If there's that much detail in the negs, then I don't see that much of a technical advantage to scanning. Especially for archival uses...toned silver gelatin is much more stable than ink, and doesn't suffer from metamerism. Just seems like a really curious choice.

- The right scanner and high quality negative can produce wonderful detail in digital photos
- Perhaps he's perfected his photoshop/digi-post-pro skills but not his darkroom?
- Cost?
-Pigmented inks have a different look.. perhaps it fits with what he is trying to achieve.

I'm just shootin in the dark...

-The right scanner, like a Flextight or a drum scanner certainly can produce really detailed scans. I'm sure he's using one of them.
-Maybe he has perfected those skills. I'd kill to be able to produce a digital print like that. It's really like nothing I've ever seen, and I've worked on some very expensive and very well calibrated equipment. I'd like to know how he arrived at that workflow.
-As for cost, that can't be too much of a consideration. Here are the costs for a basic setup to print something like that:
1) Epson 7800: $4000
2) Set of Piezography K7 cartridges: $652.90