How to fix a knife

redbourn

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
best-food.info
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a beginner and pretty much like this photo except for the knife.

Any ideas on how to fix it, or improve it?

I have PS and LR

Thanks.
knife.jpg

Last edited:
You could try the CA tool in lightroom, as it looks like there's a bit on the knife. The only other thing I can think of is painstakeingly rebuild the blade with the clone tool.

The knife, as you can see, is getting a direct reflection from the light source to the camera.
Per your Light, Science & Magic book .. make sure the reflection is not direct.

So I think it was briefly mentioned but "Reshoot it. Use some Blu Tac or similar to place the blade on a slight angle."

This is where more diffusion and less direct lighting, the better.

As others have said: avoid such a reflection.

But why do you have a knife in there anyway ? Neither of these foods requires a knife. It doesnt belong there.

Also, I wouldnt use a tablecloth that kind of looks like carpet. Or, worse, use actual carpet, a possibility I canno rule out.

That whole corner is dark. Reshoot with the knife either gone or angled to stop the reflections sounds like the best idea so far. Obviously you can fix it with Photoshop. The bright knife also makes the vegetable in the bowl look way too dark.

You seem to have a ring of the same issues, you fix and then another old issue pops back up.

As others have said: avoid such a reflection.

But why do you have a knife in there anyway ? Neither of these foods requires a knife. It doesnt belong there.

Also, I wouldnt use a tablecloth that kind of looks like carpet. Or, worse, use actual carpet, a possibility I canno rule out.

Europeans and many others eat with a knife and fork.

Mamy even eat a hamburger in the bun and pizza with a knife and fork.