how to get promoted?

tissa

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I do not know if it is the right forum, but I think it is. So the thing is that I have a friend of mine who is very very talented professional photographer. Here I have to mention that I am NOT a professional photographer and I do not know much about commercial photography or working for $$$, BUT I have many friends who photograph and who are professionals and work for money and they ALL Say that the guy I am talking about is really really good and that they have a long way to lear how to do what he does. So just to let you know that it is not just my opinion that he is a pro and is a very talented one. Anyways the only problem is that somehow this guy can not get offers! His photos look expensive and are really good but somehow he doesn't have clients. My question is: how did you all get promoted and what are the MUST DOs to become known and to get offers? How can me and his other friends help him, because he really does worth trying to help him?

Thank you all!

You need to be a master at wizardry and the dark arts.

There's a lot of ways. But those ways can not be shared on a site like this.
Smile.gif

jennyjen - you can share those ways with me using private messaging

Running a photography business and being a good photographer are not the same thing. I know a few photographers who do average work but run successfull businesses. Why? They are simply great businessmen and women.

You have to learn about marketing yourself, how to create a brand, have a pressance out on the market. You have to ensure your prices aren't too high and aren't too low for the work you are putting out there. You have to learn how to network and build the right contacts. You have to provide a solid product, not just the end product but the entire experience of dealing with you.

I'd suggest your friend take a few marketing or small business classes to learn how to promote his business.