How to get razor sharp focus + portrait editing ideas?

Inklingforsake

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a beginner and have been using Nikon D3400 for about 3 months now and I just bought the Nikkor 50mm/1.8G prime lens.

1. I am in the 'lens test' stage. There is no Auto Fine Tune feature on the D3400 and I am still struggling a little bit to get razor sharp images with these lens even with higher shutter speeds. Maybe f/1.8 is too low? How to fine tune?

2. I shot the below picture and I feel like the picture doesn't pop? Is it something that people do in post-processing that makes images pop? For a picture like this, how would I edit?

50mm prime: 1/350, f/1.8, ISO 200, no flash

IMG_8384.JPG

Also, what are your thoughts on the image below? Would sepia tone/ B&W make the picture better?

200mm: 1/320, f/4.5, ISO 200, fill flash

IMG_8385.JPG

Thank you!

Last edited:
At f/1.8, the depth of field is going to so shallow that it will be tough to get much more than an eye in tack sharp focus. Try it at f/2.8 - 4.0.

The first image could have used some fill to help with the eyes. It is soft from using f/1.8. I wouldn't worry about making it pop, just use it as a learning experience.

The second image is much better in my opinion. The biggest thing in it would be to have her bring her eyes back to toward the camera to avoid seeing only the whites of the eye. The background is blown out nicely but the bright street lights and signs will pull attention away from the subject.

These are not bad photos and there is stuff to be learned from them and build on that.

Welcome to the site.