How would you pose the hands in these photos?

Destin

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Took these as part of a recent senior portrait session. I like the light and the mood, but the obvious posing issues with the hands annoy me to no end. I'm still learning posing, and I'm curious to know:

How would you pose the subjects hands/arms? Where would you put them? What would you tell him to get him to put them where you want?

I feel like I'm in a super bad slump with my posing lately and need some inspiration. Everything I try just ends up looking awkward.

Note that these are not final edits and still have some revisions to go... so yeah, I know his red hat is visible in #2.

1.)
House_Edit-33-L.jpg

2.)
House_Edit-34-L.jpg

3.)
House_Edit-35-L.jpg

My general rules about hands and fingers:
--don't cut them off...you don't want it to look like the subject experienced an unfortunate accident with a band saw (an issue in #1)
--as long as you can make it look natural, extend them (rather than a fist) so you create a longer flowing line (an issue in #3).
--don't have guys place their hands between their legs when they're wearing dark pants b/c at first glance it looks like their fly is open and they're exposing the camera (an issue in #3).
--The pose that (focusing solely on the hands) that I like the best is #2. Even then, I'd prefer the hands apart...just let them dangle.

With an amateur model (b/c they often don't know what to do with their hands), I give them a prop...a champagne flute, a cell phone, a glass coke bottle, a rose, a pen, a folio, a hairbrush, a lollypop, a baseball bat or pair of high heels or dog leash (obviously it needs to be appropriate to the setting and subject...someone in an evening gown holding a dog collar and leash smacks of fetish)...something to hold and occupy their hands.