I cleaned the sensors on my digital cameras

I

Iron Flatline

Hi.

This is really more of a public service announcement:

After years of being a digital photographer, I have finally cleaned my sensors.

IT IS NOT A BIG DEAL!

I had bought into all the hype, and all the warnings, and all the hand-wringing. I used to go to two specific places (one in NY, one in SoCal) to get my sensors cleaned, or I used to just deal with the spots in Photoshop.

I am of normal technical competency, which means I should not be allowed near the Space Shuttle, but I can exchange a lightbulb.

There were so many products, and lots of people "doing it" that I said to myself: "Self, this can't be that hard."

I researched various products, and apparently there are many that are good. I will tell you what I used, but please don't see it as a product pitch, I'm sure there are competing products that are just as good.

I used a bundle from a company called Visible Dust, they had swabs sized for my cameras' sensors, the appropriate liquid, and they have a brush called and Arctic Butterfly. I also used my trusty Giotto Rocket, which is a little air blower (not compressed) and looks really cool - like a 1950s rocket. I hide it from my sons, or it would land in the bathtub.

In one simple attempt per camera, I cleaned the sensor of my Leica M8, and my Canon D5, two extremly fancy cameras.

It was very easy. Do not be unduly intimidated.

The sensors are behind glass. Use common sense, do not push down on it like you're crushing margarita ice, but rest assured it's doable.

Anyway, I'm just posting this to take people's fear down a notch, and because I wish someone had posted this for my reading benefit.

Below is a link that helped me a lot, from a source I respect:

The Luminous Landscape, sensor cleaning

...and although I don't want to pimp a product that I have no stake in other than actually liking it, here's a quick review of the updated product.