I have a Question

Unicorn

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello!

I'm new in photography, it's been only 5 months I shoot photos.

last summer, I bought Nikon D60 with 18-55mm lens. but when it comes to low light photography I'm not very satisfied.
some time ago, a friend of mine told me to buy 50mm F/1.4G autofocus lens for my camera, and it would help..

Now I'm wondering, If I buy that lens for 450$, would the quality improve (I mean the noise and dirt) or it will just make a good depth of field (bokeh) and that's all?

I'm sure I sound very dummy right now, but please explain whether the quality depends on Lens or the Camera itself? and what advantages will I have with 50mm Lens? :)

Well, maybe you ought to think about the 35mm f/1.8 AF-S G lens for your D60...that is around $199,and might be a handy single focal length lens for you to get your feet wet with. See, the 18-55 f/3.5~5.6 or "kit zoom lens" is a low-priced, lightweight, compromise lens designed to give you the wide-angle and the normal-ish focal lengths in one lightweight,low-cost lens. The lens is the modern day starter lens, the general duty lens for low cost and so on; the 18-55 is not a super high quality lens. It's not a horrible lens, but by the same token, it doesn't allow much light to enter into the camera, especially at the longer focal lengths.

Nikon's 50mm f/1.4 AF-S G lens is Nikon's professional-grade, modern 50mm 1.4 lens, and on a D60, it will autofocus, and it will work peerfectly. WIth that lens, you can shoot under lower light conditions without flash, and get less in focus behind close-range subjects than with the 18-55 kit zoom. If you were to photograph a person from say 3 feet to 10 feet, with the 50mm f/1.4 lens set to f/2.2 or f/2.5 or f/2.8, your backgrounds would be well out of focus if they were behind the subject 20 feet or more; that is impossible to do with the 18-55, since at 50mm, it only opens up to f/5.6.