I truely need advise

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by jenn2, Apr 14, 2010.

1. jenn2

jenn2 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    A couple of weeks ago I donated to a local chairty Pageant and I was invited to go take pictures of the event and then post them on my website. Since it was a public event I did not obtain a release form from the individual parents.
    Well now I have one parent in particular lashing out at me for having her daughter's images on my site and demanding that I pull them off.
    She proceeded to accuse me of exploiting her child....is she correct???
    Should I have obtained a release form from each parent even though it was announced numerous times that I was there and that the images would be posted on my website???

2. Gaerek

Gaerek TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I'm not a lawyer, and I'm not up on the laws, especially concerning states outside my own, but I think the real thing to discuss is, what are the purpose of the photos? Are you making money on your site? If so, that is a commercial use, and as far as I know, you would very likely want a release. If they would be considered more fine art, (even if you're selling) you wouldn't necessarily need a release. There are other people here who are more knowledgeable than me, but this is what I understand.

EDIT: I guess it would depend on the content also, perhaps. Are the photos in question just of this kid? Or is it like a group of kids? There's a lot to consider, and this is a very confusing area.

3. Formatted

Formatted TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    The charity are in the wrong not you!

For them to use it in the way they have, it requires a model release form. If they are using it editorially then they do not.

4. bigtwinky

bigtwinky No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit