I truely need advise

jenn2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
A couple of weeks ago I donated to a local chairty Pageant and I was invited to go take pictures of the event and then post them on my website. Since it was a public event I did not obtain a release form from the individual parents.
Well now I have one parent in particular lashing out at me for having her daughter's images on my site and demanding that I pull them off.
She proceeded to accuse me of exploiting her child....is she correct???
Should I have obtained a release form from each parent even though it was announced numerous times that I was there and that the images would be posted on my website???

I'm not a lawyer, and I'm not up on the laws, especially concerning states outside my own, but I think the real thing to discuss is, what are the purpose of the photos? Are you making money on your site? If so, that is a commercial use, and as far as I know, you would very likely want a release. If they would be considered more fine art, (even if you're selling) you wouldn't necessarily need a release. There are other people here who are more knowledgeable than me, but this is what I understand.

EDIT: I guess it would depend on the content also, perhaps. Are the photos in question just of this kid? Or is it like a group of kids? There's a lot to consider, and this is a very confusing area.

The charity are in the wrong not you!

For them to use it in the way they have, it requires a model release form. If they are using it editorially then they do not.

Other than it being announced, was the fact that the pictures would be displayed on a website written anywhere? On the back of a ticket, on a flyer,...?