Icy Burney Falls

Millerscorpion

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
This is my first attempt at converting an image to black and white and one other color. I dramatically increased the sharpness because I thought that would greatly enhance the effect of ice in the image.

35718-1487928861-78732c92b3fa2a57ac6c484169f1c268.jpg

burney-falls-sharp-ice.39411

The one color thing does not work. It never does. All the trees are tilting to the right so that tells me its crooked. The sharpness was cranked up way to much, its also too contrasty. A slower shutter speed would have been nice on the water.

I agree with Light Guru and gnagel, this image is over sharpened and the contrast is much too high.

I am not clear as to what you meant by a black and white with one other colour. Did you mean a duotone or split toning?

WesternGuy

I agree with Light Guru and gnagel, this image is over sharpened and the contrast is much too high.

I am not clear as to what you meant by a black and white with one other colour. Did you mean a duotone or split toning?

WesternGuy

I've never heard the terms doutone or split tone. What I want to be able to do with an image like this is make it black and white and add one color to an area like blue for water and/or sky or green for plants.
The more I see this image, the more I tend to agree that it is sharpened a little too much. But you'll just have to trust me, it looks a lot better printed on 13"x19" semigloss paper than on a computer monitor.

FYI -
Duotone - Duotone - Wikipedia
Split-toning - Split Toning in Photoshop

From your description of what you are trying to do, this does not sound like duotoning or split-toning.