Ideas for shooting electronics

zeshane

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey all,

I am new to the forum and hope to be a regular.

I am studying photography and at the moment working on an assignment for the class where we need to shoot 9 subjects on a particular theme. So I have chosen electronics and some of my subjects would include a speaker, amplifier, hair dryer and etc.

I have searched on google and have also youtubed but unfortunately haven't come across any interesting ideas for shooting these objects. I have a fair idea about how I want to shoot the amplifier but for speakers I am going total bonkers. The speaker I want to shoot is this MXc2 Mission noyer - enceinte centrale sur espace-Hifi.com. I dont want to shoot it on a white or black background. We have all the creative freedom to shoot it the way we want and thats where I am looking for some inspiration.

If anyone has experience shooting high end audio equipment, I would really appreciate if you can brainstorm some ideas with me.

Zeeshan

I would use something like short carpet, or the underside of a mousepad (a little small in this case), just anything with a subtle texture to contrast the smooth surfaces of the subject. Mousepads are especially nice because they're a nice middle grey, but I've obviously only done really small stuff with them. You could probably get a large piece of textured something from a craft store/fabric store. If you hadn't already figured it out, how you set up your lighting will be the most important thing.

I sold a pair of Monitor Audio GR20's about five years ago, And I honestly thought the photos I took was the reason for the sale.
I photographed them outside in a lush clearing on pine trees. The combination of beautiful greens from the pine trees contrasted
with a pine needle floor really set the light cherry speakers off.